Awards and Fellowships

Andrew Carnegie Fellow (2020)

Prem Paul Award for Research in Human Trafficking, University of Nebraska-Lincoln (2019)

National Women’s Hall of Fame (2019)

FD200 Feminist Recognition, Frederick Douglass Family Initiatives (2018)

University of Kansas Women’s Hall of Fame (2017)

Visionary Voice Award, National Sexual Violence Resource Center (2017)

American Bar Association Spirit of Excellence Award (2016)

Mvskoke (Creek) Nation Hall of Fame (2015)

MacArthur Fellowship (2014)

Allied Professional Award, Crime Victim Service Award, United States Department of Justice (2011)

Sheila Wellstone Institute Award (2010)

Susan Estrich Courage Award, Victim Rights Law Center (2007)


Changemaker, Minnesota Women’s Press (2015)

Emerging Scholar, Diverse Magazine (2011)

Outstanding Contributions to the Office of Justice Programs (2000)   

United States Assistant Attorney General Award

Outstanding Contribution to Oklahoma Indian Women (2000)

Oklahoma Native American Domestic Violence Coalition